Daily Archives: July 12, 2007

Let Your Yes Be Yes!

For months I promised my family that on vacation we would avoid going south through Ohio. Instead we would travel through D.C., and see the Panda bears at the National Zoo. Unfortunately, a dear church member passed; so I stayed for his memorial service. To make good time we all agreed that we had to endure Ohio. The scenery doesn’t change much in Ohio. But determined to make good on my promise, I did travel back home through D.C. to see the Panda bears. We even saw baby Panda bear who turned two a couple of days ago. I was able to get three feet from baby Panda and take a picture of a Panda’s paw. I am thankful God blessed us so that I could make good on my promise.

The Apostle Paul wrote a letter to the church in Corinth after changing his plans to visit them at a later time than he had originally planned (1 Corinthians 1). Paul explained the spiritual motivation for his decision. He cared for their joy and firmness in the faith most of all, and was not being selfish. He was still committed to his word. Paul believed in the importance of being faithful because God has been faithful to his people by fulfilling all of His promises in Christ. Now here is a thought for meditation. What covenant or vocation has God called you to be faithful to? Do you share the expectation that you too will be faithful, because you believe in a God who has been faithful to you?

Buttram, Bryan.  “Let Your Yes Be Yes!”   WordPress.com:  2007/07/12.

Leave a comment

Filed under Faithfulness, Promise